Fairfax City Government

The City of Fairfax is an independent city centrally located in Northern Virginia.

City Government address: 10455 Armstrong Street Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Fairfax City Mayor and Council

The City of Fairfax has a council/manager form of government. The mayor and six councilmembers are elected every two years on an at-large, non-partisan basis. The current term expires 6/30/2018.

David L. Meyer

Mayor, Fairfax City, VA
Former Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA (2008-17)

Jeffrey C. Greenfield

Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA
Member, Northern Virginia Transportation Commission, Northern Virginia Transportation Authority

Michael J. DeMarco

Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA
Manager, Global Customer Service Support of ExxonMobil’s Fuels, Lubricants and Specialties Business

Daniel Drummond

Councilmember, Fairfax City Council, Fairfax, VA
Director of Communications
, Certified Financial Planners Board, Washington, DC

Janice B. Miller

Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA
Travel consultant, The Travel Gals

Eleanor D. Schmidt

Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA
Executive vice president and chief compliance officer, Cardinal Bank.

Jon R. Stehle, Jr.

Councilmember, Fairfax City, VA
Senior Analyst, U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)

Robert L. Sisson

City Manager, City of Fairfax, Virginia

Dept. of Community Development & Planning

The Department of Community Development and Planning is comprised of a team of professionals committed to cultivating a more livable Fairfax

Brooke Hardin

Director, Department of Community Development and Planning, Fairfax City, VA

Planning Commission

The City of Fairfax Planning Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the City Council to plan for the future development of the city.

Joseph Harmon

Member, Fairfax City Planning Commission
President, Questox Corporation

Fairfax City Economic Development Authority

The Fairfax City EDA fosters economic development to promote strong commercial revenue, sustainable jobs, and resources for residents by attracting, expanding, retaining, and supporting small business professionals, retailers, and hospitality.

Cindy Petkac

Planning Division Chief, Community Development & Planning, City of Fairfax Virginia

Fairfax City Public Works

The employees of the Department of Public Works strive to provide efficient, cost-effective and high quality services to the citizens of the City of Fairfax.

Fairfax City Transportation Division

The goal of the Transportation Division is to provide a safe, functional and attractive multi-modal network of sidewalks, bicycle paths, public transportation options and roadways within the City of Fairfax.

Two-Year Transportation Program

Fairfax City is in the process of developing a two-year transportation program to address the community’s priorities for new transportation infrastructure and programs and wants your input!

David Summers

Director of Public Works, City of Fairfax, VA

Wendy Block Sanford

Transportation Director, City of Fairfax, Virginia

Christopher M. Bruno

Director of Economic Development, City of Fairfax, Virginia

Steve Stombres

Former Mayor and Councilmember, Fairfax VA
Partner, Harbinger Strategies

Dorothy Steele

Deputy City Clerk, City Manager’s Office, City of Fairfax, Fairfax, VA

John Mason

Mayor (1990-2002), City of Fairfax, Fairfax, VA
Former President & CEO,
 Workhouse Arts Center

Skip to toolbar